Big League Chew: The Story of Your Childhood Gum

Jamie Logie
7 min readOct 31, 2020

How do you sell and market a healthier form of chewing tobacco?

If you've never tried Big League Chew before: I’m so sorry. If you have, you can probably picture the entire experience right now.

If you’re not familiar with it, Big League Chew is a pink shredded gum invented in 1980 by former baseball player Rob Nelson. It would go on to sell over 800 million pouches. Big League Chew was also controversial and seen as promoting chewing tobacco to kids.

I don’t know what your local variety store was like, growing up, but Big League Chew was a focal point of mine. I always told myself I would get something different, but I always ended up buying it.

All kids love gum, but Big League Chew made it so much more fun. Chewing it felt adult-like as it came in a pouch just like chewing tobacco. We watched baseball players use this all the time, and I think some of the appeal was it felt off-limits.

Here’s the story of the bubble gum of every kid's childhood: Big League Chew.

Setting the Stage for Big League Chew

It all starts in the dugout. Chewing tobacco has been a mainstay of baseball pretty much since day one. The old-timers didn’t know it was bad for them — but it was part of the culture.

--

--

Jamie Logie

Some health, a little marketing, and a lot of 1980s content